search

Metro Oostlijn

DNA starting point for renovation

Architectural studio GROUP A and multi-disciplinary design agency Fabrique together are responsible for the design for the renovation of the stations of Oostlijn of the Amsterdam Metro. According to the client, the design by GROUP A/Fabrique not only ‘returns to the basics of the original design’, but is also ‘a vision for the future’.

More Less

The Oostlijn runs from the Central Station to Amsterdam Zuid-Oost, partially underground and partially elevated. The brutalist design for the Oostlijn, by architects Spängberg and Van Rhijn, dates back to the seventies. Over the years, however, the original concept has become muddled, the Oostlijn is no longer equipped to face the future. The commission for the renovation includes the refurbishment of the underground platforms, the hallways and the entrances of sixteen stations.

According to GROUP A/Fabrique, the aim of the renovation is to create a modern metro system which functions adequately, is comprehensibly organised, and pleasant to use. This is achieved without denying the original character of the metro. Instead, this existing ‘DNA’ functions as a solid and neutral background for the renovation. Through indirect lighting of the background, the metros’ spaces will feel more comfortable. Well positioned light accents and voids enhance the travellers’ orientation. All ‘cluttering’ elements will be integrated in functional clusters. These clusters provide clarity and colour, and are adaptable to future changes. Through these interventions, the Oostlijn will once more become functional, comprehensible, and a pleasant addition to public space in Amsterdam.

Facts on a row

Client

Dienst Metro Amsterdam

Assignment

Renovations 16 metro stations Oostlijn

Location

Metro Oostlijn, Amsterdam, NL

Area

16 stations

Function

Metro stations and retail

Start design

May 2009

Start construction

April 2016

Completed

2018

Photography

DigiDaan

In collaboration with

Fabrique

In collaboration with

Atelier René Knip

Client

More facts Less facts

The makers of this project

Maarten van Bremen
Maarten van Bremen
maarten@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Adam Visser
Adam Visser
adam@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Folkert van Hagen
Folkert van Hagen
folkert@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Maarten Lever
Maarten Lever
maartenlever@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleider

Pia Fischer
Pia Fischer
pia@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleider

Bas Cuppen
Bas Cuppen
bas@groupa.nl

Bouwkundige

Xander van Dijk
Xander van Dijk
xander@groupa.nl

Architect

Dennis Berger
Dennis Berger
dennis@groupa.nl

Bouwkundige

Frank Deltrap
Frank Deltrap
frank@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleider

Chris Woltjes
Chris Woltjes
chris@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleider

Suzanne Linders
no-profile-image
Susana Ayres
no-profile-image
Kenny Kwong
no-profile-image
Richard Bax
no-profile-image
Tuomas Jarvinen
no-profile-image
Tuomas Jarvinen
Engin Kinsiz
no-profile-image
Anna Szczegielniak
no-profile-image
Qian Ren
no-profile-image
Jacek Szczegielniak
no-profile-image
Jacek Szczegielniak
External stakeholders
Loading...