search

No.1 Shanghai, CN

inspired by Chinese culture

GROUP A has designed an urban scheme for a location in central Shanghai. The site covers a full urban block and will be hosting a 160,000 sqm mixed use development, comprising hotel apartments, a hotel, offices, retail, leisure and carpark.

More Less

GROUP A started out by exploring a number of possible design options for the site. Eventually three proposals were shortlisted and have subsequently been developed further. The three design concepts, each having their own unique approach and characteristics, are: Crystal Mountains, Fortune Bowls and Compass Grid. All three options have been influenced and inspired by either Chinese culture, architecture, urbanism or landscapes.

The design challenge the team stood for was to create a destination that will have a strong pulling power. Indeed, the ambition to be a much sought after location within the demanding and energetic dynamics of a city like Shanghai, requires a forward looking strategy. GROUP A always intend to couple atmosphere, commercial viability and feasibility with disciplines that are distinct and address the cities desire to encourage architecture that beautifies her skyline.

Facts on a row

Client

Private

Assignment

New build

Location

Shanghai, CN

Area

200,000 sqm

Function

Hotel, hotel-apartments, offices, residential, retail, leisure, carpark.

Start construction

June 2007
More facts Less facts

The makers of this project

Maarten van Bremen
Maarten van Bremen
maarten@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Folkert van Hagen
Folkert van Hagen
folkert@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Adam Visser
Adam Visser
adam@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Lolke Ket
Lolke Ket
lolke@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Suzanne Linders
no-profile-image
Matteo Bettoni
Matteo Bettoni
matteo@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Chris Woltjes
Chris Woltjes
chris@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Rutger Kuipers
no-profile-image
Janneke van der Velden
no-profile-image
Dirk Zschunke
no-profile-image
Joost Clymans
no-profile-image
Brigitte van der Tuin
Brigitte van der Tuin
brigitte@groupa.nl

Interior architect

Bahar Akkoclu
no-profile-image
Engin Kinsiz
no-profile-image
Sara Rojo
no-profile-image
Jos Overmars
Jos Overmars
jos@groupa.nl

Architectural engineer | Projectleader

Jose Ignacio Martin
no-profile-image
Loading...