search

Shilaoren Qingdao, CN

waterfront apartments

The site of Shilaoren project is at the foot of Shilaoren tourist garden park (a part of Laoshan mountain), and is facing the Huanghai sea in the South, which is quite a perfect location for Chinese residential. So it won’t be a surprise to us that the client, Carnival Group International, would like to build a luxury vacation residential block on this plot and make these apartments as the most expensive ones in Qingdao area.

More Less

The general strategy of this overall design is to achieve the balance between our building with the Laoshan mountain and the Huanghai sea. And how we position the project in such an ideal plot?

The design concept comes from the origin of the name “Shilaoren” – which means the “old stone man”.  According to a local fairy-tale about the big stone in the sea, an old fisherman is standing in the sea and turns into stone while waiting for his daughter to come back.

In the architectural design, we use this stone as a reference, showing our main gesture towards the sea – embracing it – standing confident in front of it. Besides, from the basic layout of the whole clusters to the use of glass as the balcony balustrade’s material, we always keep the optimization of the sea view in our mind.

For the landscape design, we consider our plot as the extension and continuation of the Laoshan mountain. The green roof, the vertical green cliff wall, we seek every possibility to continue the green from the mountain to our site and make the dialogue between the green and blue.

Facts on a row

Client

Carnival Group International, Hong Kong

Assignment

Architectural design, and urban design

Location

Qingdao, China

Area

47,000 sqm

Function

Apartments

Start design

2017

Start construction

2018

Completion

2019
More facts Less facts

The makers of this project

Folkert van Hagen
Folkert van Hagen
folkert@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Adam Visser
Adam Visser
adam@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Maarten van Bremen
Maarten van Bremen
maarten@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Lolke Ket
Lolke Ket
lolke@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Boyuan Shi
Boyuan Shi
boyuan@groupa.nl

Architect

Paula Ramos Martinez
Paula Ramos Martinez
paula@groupa.nl

Urban designer

Dennis Berger
Dennis Berger
dennis@groupa.nl

Architect

Jing Lin
no-profile-image
Io Alexandropoulou
no-profile-image
Keshi Huang
no-profile-image
Ye Hu
no-profile-image
Nour Fellah
no-profile-image
Zhan Wang
no-profile-image
Loading...