search

HQ Dow Benelux

Landscape Zeeland as inspiration

GROUP A designed the exterior, interior and layout of the site of the new headquarters for Dow Benelux, the Terneuzen Diamond Center at the debouchment of the Westerscheldetunnel. Knowledge sharing and cooperation where the important spear points of the MVP. Dow therefore has the ambition to realize the “Innovation & Meeting Center” in the new office building in order to stimulate collaboration in the chemical sector.

More Less

Since 1964 Dow Benelux has been located west of Terneuzen (Netherlands). The various functions are spread over the entire factory site. For the new headquarters Dow chose to place this outside the site.

This new location is located at the debouchment of the Westerscheldetunnel embedded in the Zeeuws-Vlaanderen polder. The landscape of Zeeland served as inspiration for the design of the headquarters, both the interior and the exterior. Driving through the surroundings, you notice a color gradient; ranging from earth and green to the light grey blue of the sky. This gradient is reflected in the fa├žade of the new building. The robust plinth of masonry stands for the Zeeland clay soil, the light superstructure with a horizontal play of lines and color gradient from dark to light, represents the landscape and the sky. The new office building is thus inspired by the characteristic Zeeland landscape.

The colour gradient applied on the outside and the design of the outside space are extended inwards. This is reflected in the interior through the floors, walls and furniture in a subtle, but clearly recognizable way. Inside the two office wings are connected by a bridge link. The atria that result from this provide plenty of daylight and views. With 1,100 workplaces, the new building offers more than sufficient space to accommodate the growing number of employees.

Facts on a row

Client

Exterior: Cordeel Nederland | Interior: Dow Benelux

Assignment

New build exterior, interior and landscape

Location

Westerschelde-tunnelweg, Terneuzen, NL

Area

16,850 sqm headquarters and 2,500 sqm workshop

Function

Offices

Start design

January 2015

Start construction

March 2017

Completed

April 2019

Photography

Frank Hanswijk
More facts Less facts

The makers of this project

Folkert van Hagen
Folkert van Hagen
folkert@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Maarten van Bremen
Maarten van Bremen
maarten@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Adam Visser
Adam Visser
adam@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Birgitta Rottmann
Birgitta Rottmann
birgitta@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Rolf van Gils
Rolf van Gils
rolf@groupa.nl

Building guidance | Budget monitoring | Quality control

Brigitte van der Tuin
Brigitte van der Tuin
brigitte@groupa.nl

Interior architect

Raymond Leentvaar
Raymond Leentvaar
raymond@groupa.nl

Interior architect

Frank Deltrap
Frank Deltrap
frank@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Greetje van den Nouweland
Greetje van den Nouweland
greetje@groupa.nl

Urban designer

Pim Bangert
no-profile-image
Llewellyn Vardon McLeod
no-profile-image
Luca Piattelli
no-profile-image
Karho Yeung
no-profile-image
Zhan Wang
no-profile-image
Louella Exton
no-profile-image
External stakeholders
Loading...