search

TNO BI&M labory cluster

openness as key to joint innovation

Test halls and laboratories have been brought together in one building, with the principle that openness is the key to joint innovation. This inspiring and open working environment for the new TNO Lab on the TU Campus in Delft is the result of a collaboration between end user TNO, developer Stone22, GROUP A and investor a.s.r. real estate.

More Less

The research that is being carried out in the laboratory cluster on the renewed TU Campus is focusing on increases longevity and innovation in the field of materials, energy and constructions. Research takes place in a test hall and lab areas, each housed in a separate part of the building. The semi-transparent facade of the large test halls on the east side allows a view of the test activities inside. The supporting laboratories and work spaces are located on the west side on the ground floor. Above, on the first floor, are the technical installations and reused climate cells, an important part of TNO’s research practice. The open-close ratio in the sustainable facade limits the heating of the building and thus reduces the required cooling.

The transparent, double-high corridor, which connects the two parts, is not only a traffic space but also the place where the technical innovations are visible for passers-by, visitors and employees. The office and lab spaces on the first floor open onto platforms, ‘suspended’ in the central corridor. The coffee corner, also ‘suspended’ in this high space, is the place to meet. Movements from the test hall to the laboratories and viceversa provide liveliness in this open working environment.

Facts

Investor

a.s.r. real estate

Developer

Stone22

Assignment

New build

Location

Huismansingel, TU Delft Campus-Zuid

Area

2,700 sqm

Function

Research building TNO

Start design

December 2018

Start construction

April 2020

Completion

Februari 2021

Renders

GROUP A
More facts Less facts

The makers of this project

Folkert van Hagen
Folkert van Hagen
folkert@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Chris Woltjes
Chris Woltjes
chris@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Perry Klootwijk
Perry Klootwijk
perry@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Arjan Siebelink
Arjan Siebelink
arjan@groupa.nl

Architect

Boyuan Shi
Boyuan Shi
boyuan@groupa.nl

Architect

Brigitte van der Tuin
Brigitte van der Tuin
brigitte@groupa.nl

Interior architect

Mindaugas Arlauskas
Mindaugas Arlauskas
mindaugas@groupa.nl

Architect

Hala Abi Saad
Hala Abi Saad
hala@groupa.nl

Architect

Jos Overmars
no-profile-image
External stakeholders
Loading...