search

Ferro Innovation Factory

contemporary industrial icon in M4H

In the Galileipark in the M4H area, Rotterdam the renovation of the Ferro office building has started, as part of the metamorphosis of the old harbour area into a mixed living, working and manufacturing area. The renovation will transforms the former office building of the Ferro ensemble into the Ferro Innovation Factory. A place for growing companies in the design, innovation and R&D sector, which are mainly related to harbour activities. It will be a transparent and recognizable building. A contemporary industrial icon.

More Less

The Ferro Innovation Factory combines a professional appearance with an inspiring working environment. The building offers the qualities of a lively and collective environment so that exchange and cross-pollination are naturally stimulated. In our design, a new void forms the heart of the building and allows daylight to penetrate deep into the building. A sculptural staircase moves freely through this space and, in addition to the floors, also connects collectively used meeting spaces.

For the public space around the building, the focus will be on greenery and accommodation. The lively plinth offers space for a coffee & lunch bar and active programming. The patio on the top floor forms a sheltered roof terrace overlooking the water, and hosting a bar for small-scale activities.

The Ferro Innovation Factory will be a recognizable building in M4H. A contemporary industrial icon that offers space to innovative users who literally give colour to the building. By applying a transparent energy-generating facade, it will become an energy-neutral building.

Facts

Client

Port of Rotterdam

Assignment

Renovation, refurbishment

Location

M4H area, Rotterdam

Area

7,440 sqm

Function

Workshop(s) for creative industry, offices for scale-ups, incubator / coworking space, meeting and event space

Start design

January 2018

Start construction

Expected end of 2019
More facts Less facts

The makers of this project

Maarten van Bremen
Maarten van Bremen
maarten@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Frank Deltrap
Frank Deltrap
frank@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Greetje van den Nouweland
Greetje van den Nouweland
greetje@groupa.nl

Architect | Urban designer

Hala Abi Saad
Hala Abi Saad
hala@groupa.nl

Architect

Mindaugas Arlauskas
Mindaugas Arlauskas
mindaugas@groupa.nl

Architect

Bas Cuppen
Bas Cuppen
bas@groupa.nl

Architectural engineer

Matteo Bettoni
Matteo Bettoni
matteo@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Sven Schouten
Sven Schouten
sven@groupa.nl

Assistant designer

Pietro Giromini
no-profile-image
Rodrigo Altamirano Fernand├ęz
no-profile-image
External stakeholders
Loading...