search

Keilepand M4H

a place to work, make and meet

The Keilepand, located in Merwe-Vierhavens, has been transformed by GROUP A in collaboration with Studio Adams from a pre-war fruit and vegetable shed into an activity-based collective building where similar-minded businesses give meaning to a sustainable future. With the move to the Rotterdam Makers District, we join the pioneers of Merwe-Vierhavens, with the Voedseltuin, Atelier van Lieshout and Studio Roosegaarde as neighbors. Over the next few years, this former inland harbor will be developed by the municipality of Rotterdam into a lively area for living and working, with space for creative and innovative businesses.

More Less

Transformation through programmatic design
The Keilepand is the former gatehouse of Thomsen’s from 1922, designed by W. Kreis & Jüngst. The 100-meter long and 50-meter wide building has an area of 14,500 sqm. Using the original qualities of the building as a starting point, designers are located on the top floor, makers on the first floor and doers in the basement.Since the purchase of the building, November 2019, in close consultation with its tenants, the building has been transformed step by step and made future-proof. The warm wooden tribune staircase connects the central hall with the office floors and the Keilezaal intended for exhibitions, workshops and debates. The characteristic 5 meters high office floors have an open floor plan and are therefore flexible for future changes.  To stimulate knowledge sharing and collaboration, several meeting hubs and a communal lunch kitchen have been created.

From G label to A+
At the start of the renovation, the Keilepand had energy label cG with an energy index of 2.59. Recently it obtained label A, with an official index of 0.67. This means label A+ for new buildings, but this class does not (yet) exist for existing buildings. Insulation of interior walls, exterior insulation of the roof with white bitumen finish, underfloor heating and cooling powered by two air heat pumps, LED lighting and heat recovery on the air circulation per room, provide a very pleasant indoor climate.

Energy neutral
In the coming years, the building will be made more sustainable by the addition of solar panels and extra air-heat pumps, and it will be able to switch off its gas supply. The Keilepand will then be completely energy-neutral. The building can also contribute making the environment more sustainable. In the near future, for example, the rainwater will be used to water the neighbouring Food Garden and research will be carried out into whether energy can be extracted from the watercourse.

GROUP A is a co-initiator of the KeileCollectief*, a collaboration of companies established in the building and in the Keile Quarter, and is responsible for the design and coordination of the transformation of the Keilepand.

*The KeileCollectief addresses, initiates and participates in an entirely unique way in current spatial assignments and, with the Keilepand as its home base, forms a catalyst for urban renewal.

Facts

Client

KeilecCollectief

Assignment

Transformation warehouse into multifunctional building

Location

Keilestraat 9F, Rotterdam, NL

Area

14,500 sqm

Function

Offices, exhibition space, workshop, production, hospitality and storage

Start design

2015

Start construction

1st phase: September 2015, 2nd phase: January 2020

Completed

1st phase: 2016 / 2nd phase: end 2020

Photography

Frank Hanswijk

In collaboration with

Studio Adams and KeileCollectief

Sustainability

2020: energy label G to A / 2022: energy label A++ / 2025: energy neutral
More facts Less facts

The makers of this project

Folkert van Hagen
Folkert van Hagen
folkert@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Maarten van Bremen
Maarten van Bremen
maarten@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Adam Visser
Adam Visser
adam@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Lolke Ket
Lolke Ket
lolke@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Rolf van Gils
Rolf van Gils
rolf@groupa.nl

Building guidance | Budget monitoring | Quality control

Dennis Berger
Dennis Berger
dennis@groupa.nl

Architect

Frank Deltrap
Frank Deltrap
frank@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Perry Klootwijk
Perry Klootwijk
perry@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Michelle Wanten
Michelle Wanten
michelle@groupa.nl

Office manager

Fieke Poelman
Fieke Poelman
fieke@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Chris Woltjes
Chris Woltjes
chris@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Rosanne van Tilburg
Rosanne van Tilburg
rosanne@groupa.nl

Business Developer & Communications

Bianca Vermeulen
no-profile-image
Jos Overmars
no-profile-image
Edwin van Thuijl
Edwin van Thuijl
edwin@groupa.nl

Designer

Io Alexandropoulou
no-profile-image
Ajay Saini
no-profile-image
Richard Bax
no-profile-image
Nika Jazaei
no-profile-image
Gizem Adanur
no-profile-image
Boyuan Shi
no-profile-image
External stakeholders
Loading...