search

Keilepand M4H

a place to work, make and meet

The Keilepand in M4H has been transformed by GROUP A from a pre-war warehouse into a multifunctional building in which various companies and industries can strengthen each other. With the move to the Rotterdam Makers District, we are joining the pioneers of Merwe-Vierhavens, with the Voedseltuin, Atelier van Lieshout and Studio Roosegaarde as neighbours. In the coming years, the city of Rotterdam will develop this former inner harbour into a dynamic living and working area that offers space for creative and innovative companies.

More Less

From warehouse to activity-based office
The concrete warehouse dates from 1922 and is a characteristic example of industrial heritage. GROUP A’s office is located on the 5 metre high first floor, where we work together with other offices in an open workspace. By designing and rebuilding our own workspace, we have further developed our experience in ‘activity-based’ office concepts. This has led to a variety of self-built interior elements. Such as the Wall-of-Knowledge, desks and lamps, the green oasis and the coffee-kitchen-work-bar, which is the central meeting hub for the entire building.

Energy neutral
In November 2019, the 14,500 sqm historic building was acquired from the Municipality of Rotterdam, clearing the way for further expansion. The still empty warehouse spaces have been converted into new offices, for the International Architecture Biennale Rotterdam and the Keilezaal, the central location for the biennial architecture exhibition in 2020. In terms of sustainability, the roof was recently insulated and the building will go from energy label G to A. In 2022, by adding solar panels to the roof and using biomass, the A++ label will be obtained. The Keilepand will then be able to get off the gas and will be energy-neutral. In the future, rainwater will also be used to flush the toilets and water the Voedseltuin.

GROUP A is co-initiator of the KeileCollectief, a joint venture between companies located in the building and in the Keilekwartier, and is responsible for the design and coordination of the transformation of the Keilepand.

Facts

Client

GROUP A, Rotterdam

Assignment

Transformation warehouse into multifunctional building

Location

Keilestraat 9F, Rotterdam, NL

Area

14.500 sqm

Function

Offices, exhibition space and workshops

Start design

2015

Start construction

1st phase: September 2015, 2nd phase: January 2020

Completed

1st phase: 2016 / 2nd phase: 2020

Photography

Frank Hanswijk

In collaboration with

KeileCollectief

Sustainability

2020: energy label G to A / 2022: energy label A++ / 2025: energy neutral
More facts Less facts

The makers of this project

Folkert van Hagen
Folkert van Hagen
folkert@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Maarten van Bremen
Maarten van Bremen
maarten@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Adam Visser
Adam Visser
adam@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Lolke Ket
Lolke Ket
lolke@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Rolf van Gils
Rolf van Gils
rolf@groupa.nl

Building guidance | Budget monitoring | Quality control

Dennis Berger
Dennis Berger
dennis@groupa.nl

Architect

Gizem Adanur
Gizem Adanur
gizem@groupa.nl

Intern

Boyuan Shi
Boyuan Shi
boyuan@groupa.nl

Architect

Frank Deltrap
Frank Deltrap
frank@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Perry Klootwijk
Perry Klootwijk
perry@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Michelle Wanten
Michelle Wanten
michelle@groupa.nl

Office manager

Fieke Poelman
Fieke Poelman
fieke@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Chris Woltjes
Chris Woltjes
chris@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Rosanne van Tilburg
Rosanne van Tilburg
rosanne@groupa.nl

Business Developer and Head Communications

Bianca Vermeulen
no-profile-image
Jos Overmars
no-profile-image
Edwin van Thuijl
no-profile-image
Io Alexandropoulou
no-profile-image
Ajay Saini
no-profile-image
Richard Bax
no-profile-image
Nika Jazaei
no-profile-image
External stakeholders
Loading...