search

Keilepand M4H

a place to work, make and meet

The Keilepand in M4H will be transformed from an empty warehouse into a multifunctional building in which there is room for working, making and meeting. With the move to the Rotterdam Makers District we join the pioneers of Merwe-Vierhavens, with Atelier van Lieshout and Studio Roosegaarde as neighbours. In the coming years this former inner harbour will be developed by the municipality of Rotterdam as a lively living and working area that offers space for creative and innovative design- and production companies.

More Less

In the former concrete warehouse, built in 1922, GROUP A’s office is located on the 5 meter high first floor. By designing and building our own workspace, we took the opportunity to clear the way for the further develop of our experience in activity-based office concepts. This has led to a variety of self-built interior elements. Such as the Wall-of-Knowledge, desks, the oasis, lamps and a coffee buffet-kitchen-work bar, which within the office serves as the central meeting hub for the entire building.

In November 2019, the 14,500 sqm historical building was acquired from the City of Rotterdam, this cleared the way for expansion and improvement of the sustainability. The previously empty warehouse spaces will be converted into new office spaces, for the International Architecture Biennale Rotterdam and an exhibition space that will be the central location for this biennial architecture exhibition from 2020. GROUP A is one of the initiators of the KeileCollectief, an alliance of organisations based in the building and the area, and is responsible for the design and coordination of the transformation of the Keilepand.

Facts

Client

GROUP A, Rotterdam

Assignment

Transformation warehouse into multifunctional builidng

Location

Keilestraat 9F, Rotterdam, NL

Area

14.500 sqm

Function

Offices, exhibition space, workshops, storage

Start design

2015

Start construction

1st phase: Autumn 2015, 2nd phase: January 2020

Completed

1st phase: 2016

Photography

Frank Hanswijk

In collaboration with

KeileCollectief
More facts Less facts

The makers of this project

Folkert van Hagen
Folkert van Hagen
folkert@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Maarten van Bremen
Maarten van Bremen
maarten@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Adam Visser
Adam Visser
adam@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Lolke Ket
Lolke Ket
lolke@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Rolf van Gils
Rolf van Gils
rolf@groupa.nl

Building guidance | Budget monitoring | Quality control

Boyuan Shi
Boyuan Shi
boyuan@groupa.nl

Architect

Frank Deltrap
Frank Deltrap
frank@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Perry Klootwijk
Perry Klootwijk
perry@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Dennis Berger
Dennis Berger
dennis@groupa.nl

Architect

Michelle Wanten
Michelle Wanten
michelle@groupa.nl

Office manager

Fieke Poelman
Fieke Poelman
fieke@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Chris Woltjes
Chris Woltjes
chris@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Rosanne van Tilburg
Rosanne van Tilburg
rosanne@groupa.nl

Business Developer and Head Communications

Bianca Vermeulen
no-profile-image
Jos Overmars
no-profile-image
Edwin van Thuijl
no-profile-image
Io Alexandropoulou
no-profile-image
Ajay Saini
no-profile-image
Richard Bax
no-profile-image
Nika Jazaei
no-profile-image
Gizem Adanur
no-profile-image
External stakeholders
Loading...