search

Metro Oostlijn

Back to the original

Metro Oostlijn in Amsterdam is again a safe and pleasant place with a strong identity. Without denying the original character, but by making visible the original rough-looking DNA in combination with the addition of contrasting refined materials, a future-proof and comfortable Metro line has been resurrected.

More Less

The Oostlijn runs from the Central Station to Amsterdam Zuid-Oost, partially underground and partially elevated. The brutalist design for the Oostlijn, by architects Spängberg and Van Rhijn, dates back to the seventies. Over the years, however, the original concept has become muddled, the Oostlijn is no longer equipped to face the future. The commission for the renovation includes the refurbishment of the underground platforms, the hallways and the entrances of sixteen stations.

According to GROUP A/Fabrique, the aim of the renovation is to create a modern metro system which functions adequately, is comprehensibly organised, and pleasant to use. This is achieved without denying the original character of the metro. Instead, this existing ‘DNA’ functions as a solid and neutral background for the renovation. Through indirect lighting of the background, the metros’ spaces will feel more comfortable. Well positioned light accents and voids enhance the travellers’ orientation. All ‘cluttering’ elements will be integrated in functional clusters. These clusters provide clarity and colour, and are adaptable to future changes. Through these interventions, the Oostlijn will once more become functional, comprehensible, and a pleasant addition to public space in Amsterdam.

Facts on a row

Client

Dienst Metro Amsterdam

Assignment

Renovation 16 metro stations Oostlijn

Location

Metro Oostlijn, Amsterdam, NL

Area

16 stations

Function

Metro stations and retail

Start design

May 2009

Start construction

April 2016

Completed

December 2018

Photography

DigiDaan

In collaboration with

Fabrique

In collaboration with

Atelier René Knip
More facts Less facts

The makers of this project

Maarten van Bremen
Maarten van Bremen
maarten@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Adam Visser
Adam Visser
adam@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Folkert van Hagen
Folkert van Hagen
folkert@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Maarten Lever
Maarten Lever
maartenlever@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Pia Fischer
Pia Fischer
pia@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Bas Cuppen
Bas Cuppen
bas@groupa.nl

Architectural engineer

Xander van Dijk
Xander van Dijk
xander@groupa.nl

Architect

Dennis Berger
Dennis Berger
dennis@groupa.nl

Architectural engineer

Frank Deltrap
Frank Deltrap
frank@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Chris Woltjes
Chris Woltjes
chris@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Suzanne Linders
no-profile-image
Susana Ayres
no-profile-image
Kenny Kwong
no-profile-image
Richard Bax
no-profile-image
Tuomas Jarvinen
no-profile-image
Engin Kinsiz
no-profile-image
Anna Szczegielniak
no-profile-image
Anna Szczegielniak
Qian Ren
no-profile-image
Qian Ren
Jacek Szczegielniak
no-profile-image
External stakeholders
Loading...