search

De Kroes

A dynamic world in one building

The ‘Kroes’ is a dynamic world in one building. In which a healthy and active attitude to life is stimulated.  By making cities, neighbourhoods and buildings nature-inclusive, they are more resistant to changing climate conditions. Green plays an important role within the building. The proximity of nature; trees, bushes, plants and grasses provides an attractive added value to the quality of life. The ‘Kroes’ is thus maximally urban ecology-inclusive.

More Less

Due to the far-reaching mix of functions, the Urban Healthy Quarter presents itself as a lively micro-city in which social trends can develop. The large-scale renewal of the Utrecht Central station area has made this area an attractive place for residents, businesses and visitors. Diversity and future-proof adaptability are the important themes. The ‘Kroes’ comprises a differentiated range of housing that is attractive and accessible to many target groups.

The SOHO programme (Social office Home office) is, literally, the core of the building. Situated around the enormous atrium, it stimulates interaction and meeting. And thus offers the opportunity to attract a great diversity of residents. By flexibly combining working and living without restrictions, a pluralistic use is created.

Facts on a row

Client

Zhonghongjian Holding BV and Beijing Jingaogang Group Co. Ltd

Assignment

Competition/new build

Location

Croeselaan, Utrecht, NL

Area

86,325 sqm

Function

Mixed-use building with 309 apartments, and work-units and a public plinth, including retail, sport and wellness and a Cross Creative Art Centre

Design

May 2017

Design team

BNP (GROUP A and BETween), Arup, De Urbanisten, At Osborne, Victoria en bbn advisors
More facts Less facts

The makers of this project

Adam Visser
Adam Visser
adam@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Folkert van Hagen
Folkert van Hagen
folkert@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Maarten van Bremen
Maarten van Bremen
maarten@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Greetje van den Nouweland
Greetje van den Nouweland
greetje@groupa.nl

Architect | Urban designer

Lolke Ket
Lolke Ket
lolke@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Laura Onnis
Laura Onnis
laura@groupa.nl

Architect

Matteo Bettoni
Matteo Bettoni
matteo@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Pietro Giromini
no-profile-image
Boyuan Shi
Boyuan Shi
boyuan@groupa.nl

Architect

Susana Ayres
no-profile-image
Virginia Melandri
no-profile-image
Loading...