search

Harderwijk Railway Station

attractively linked to each other

The entire area around the Harderwijk railway station has been overhauled to prepare for the new Randstadspoor metropolitan railway network, which will be integrated in the future. The former single-floor intersection between traces and main traffic structure has been replaced by a new tunnel at a new location. This tunnel connects motorists, cyclists and pedestrians to the various sections of the town, as well as providing access to the railway platforms.

More Less

The square in front of the railway station links all station-related uses and services and serve to regulate pedestrian traffic. The centre of the square features a staircase, designed in warm and attractive natural stone, further enhances its aesthetic appeal. The wide and low stairs, offers the passenger overview and comfort.

The railway station building with its conspicuous awnings and central waiting area is all part of the same structure and constitutes the heart of the Stationsplein. The retail areas, essential passenger amenities and facilities are located directly along the passenger area between the train and bus sections of the station. The building aligns with both the ground level and the tunnel level, creating an elegant link between the two levels.

The former railway station building is replaced with a new building, which is located close to the tunnel. In addition, the bus station and a bicycle park accommodating 1,500 bikes are reintegrated into the station environment.

Facts on a row

Client

Gemeente Harderwijk

Stakeholders

Prorail and NS Stations

Location

Stationsplein, Harderwijk, NL

Assignment

Transformation station area

Function

Station building, tunnel, bicycle parking (1500 bikes) and bus station

Start design

July 2013

Start construction

September 2015

Completed

March 2017

Photography

Ossip van Duivenbode
More facts Less facts

The makers of this project

Adam Visser
Adam Visser
adam@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Folkert van Hagen
Folkert van Hagen
folkert@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Maarten van Bremen
Maarten van Bremen
maarten@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Jos Overmars
Jos Overmars
jos@groupa.nl

Architectural engineer | Projectleader

Greetje van den Nouweland
Greetje van den Nouweland
greetje@groupa.nl

Urban designer

Janneke van der Velden
no-profile-image
Laura Onnis
Laura Onnis
laura@groupa.nl

Architect

Gabrielius Varnelis
Gabrielius Varnelis
gabrielius@groupa.nl

Architect

Kenny Kwong
no-profile-image
Fani Ntintoka
no-profile-image
Ajay Saini
no-profile-image
External stakeholders
Loading...