search

The Forum

connecting and organizing passenger flows

The transformation of the Utrecht Station Area is in full swing. Restructuring both infrastructure and urban layout aims for connecting the east and west side of the tracks in an obstacle-free manner. The new Station Passage, and the new Rabo-bridge will literally bridged this physical barrier caused by the railway tracks. In addition the raised ground pedestrian platform at level with the terminal – The Forum, will organise en guide the passenger flows in a logical way.

More Less

Development of the Utrecht Station Area focuses around the themes ‘connecting’ and ‘staying’. Within this context the Forum organises and guides the passenger flows from the station to the surrounding destinations, including the adjacent bicycle parking and tram stops. Connections to the existing Beatrixgebouw and Rabobank complex forms an integral part of this system.

The Forum also provides the address for over 200,000 sqm of offices, residential, conference, hotel and theater; premises occupied each day by over 8,000 people, and who make use of the surrounding public space. Building plinths are transparent and accommodate public functions, including restaurants and cafes. The resulting urban squares between the buildings are fitted out in a rich and comfortable fashion for optimum pleasure and convenience.

Due to the high building density, the Forum exposes an enclosed character and could be considered being an urban interior. With these qualities the area is becoming a unique public space that matches the scale and ambition for the new Utrecht Central Station.

Facts on a row

Client

Municipality Utrecht and NS Stations

Assignment

New build and landscape design

Location

West side Central Station Utrecht, NL

Area

5.000 sqm

Function

Pedestrian area West side Central Station Utrecht + bicycle parking (3,500 bikes)

Start design

August 2013

Start construction

October 2016

Completed

April 2018

Photography

Ossip van Duivenbode
More facts Less facts

The makers of this project

Adam Visser
Adam Visser
adam@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Folkert van Hagen
Folkert van Hagen
folkert@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Maarten van Bremen
Maarten van Bremen
maarten@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Chris Woltjes
Chris Woltjes
chris@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Greetje van den Nouweland
Greetje van den Nouweland
greetje@groupa.nl

Urban designer

Jos Overmars
Jos Overmars
jos@groupa.nl

Architectural engineer | Projectleader

Frank Deltrap
Frank Deltrap
frank@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Edwin van Thuijl
no-profile-image
Gabrielius Varnelis
Gabrielius Varnelis
gabrielius@groupa.nl

Architect

Pia Fischer
Pia Fischer
pia@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Maarten Lever
Maarten Lever
maartenlever@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Kenny Kwong
no-profile-image
Nika Jazaei
no-profile-image
Fani Ntintoka
no-profile-image
Janneke van der Velden
no-profile-image
Edwin Larkens
no-profile-image
External stakeholders
Loading...