search

Central Park

park at height of 45 metres

Central Park – a ninety-metre-high office tower – will be located next to the Municpal Offices. Due to an constriction at a height of 45 m, the volume of the building is divided into two masses. This horizontal accent has two storeys and thus connects with that of the Municipal Offices. The interior has an inner garden with a meeting place. Central Park will be completed in the third quarter of 2021.

More Less

The office facade has a subtly varied structure and composition. For sustainability reasons, less glass will be used in places with a lot of sunshine, and vice versa in places with less sunshine. This standard will be deviated from in exceptional places, where there are views of striking buildings in the city. In contrast to the office facade, the facade of the constriction is completely transparent, with sculptural edges at the top and bottom.

The green inner gardens in Central Park, stand for a special ecosystem; unique for users of the building and unique for the city of Utrecht. The maximum use of greenery and visibility from the city will give the building a sculptural value that is timeless and a logo for Utrecht.

Together with Central Park, GROUP A is designing the Stadsplateau – The Forum, a raised and greened square with a parking garage underneath. Because of its location on this plateau, which is on the same level as the public transport terminal, the integration of the building into the city is reinforced.

Facts

Client

Angelo Gordon and APF International

Location

West side station area Utrecht

Assignment

New Build

Area

31.596 sqm

Function

Offices and retail

Start design

2017

Start construction

April 2019

Completion

June 2021

Images

PixelPool, GROUP A

Ambition BREEAM - NL SCORE

Excellent, score of > 75% (expected)
More facts Less facts

The makers of this project

Adam Visser
Adam Visser
adam@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Chris Woltjes
Chris Woltjes
chris@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Perry Klootwijk
Perry Klootwijk
perry@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Frank Deltrap
Frank Deltrap
frank@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Greetje van den Nouweland
Greetje van den Nouweland
greetje@groupa.nl

Urban designer

Laura Onnis
Laura Onnis
laura@groupa.nl

Architect and visual artist

Gabrielius Varnelis
Gabrielius Varnelis
gabrielius@groupa.nl

Architect

Raymond Leentvaar
Raymond Leentvaar
raymond@groupa.nl

Interior architect

Jos Overmars
no-profile-image
Edwin van Thuijl
Edwin van Thuijl
edwin@groupa.nl

BIM Coordinator

Jing Lin
no-profile-image
Luca Piattelli
no-profile-image
Kenny Kwong
no-profile-image
Dichao Wang
no-profile-image
External stakeholders
Loading...