search

Max Euwe Quartier Brainpark

Hybrid city block with collective roof gardens

The hybrid city block marks the Max Euwe Quarter at Kralingse Zoom with a 70-metre-high residential tower and a six-storey lower structure. The block has a staggered design and forms a lively domain with roof gardens and a raised green courtyard with access to the residential buildings. With a mobility hub and catering facilities in the public plinth, the city block contributes to the livability of the residential environment.

More Less

Living in a green environment
The Max Euwe Quartier kicks off the transformation of Brainpark I in Rotterdam with an ensemble for living and facilities in a green environment. Several office buildings on the Max Euwelaan, property of BAKKERS | HOMMEN, are being replaced by three new city blocks designed by GROUP A, ZZDP and STIJNVANDENBOOGAARD ARCHITECTEN. The program combines approximately 775 social and medium-rent apartments with collective mobility facilities, a communal garden and roof gardens designed by OKRA landscape architects.

City block with dynamic facade
The hybrid city block MEK 1, designed by GROUP A, with social and medium-rent apartments and facilities consists of multiple volumes with a dynamic façade of frames that become more open towards the top. The stacking of volumes creates space for collective roof gardens on several floors. The pink hue of the concrete elements contrasts vividly with the green surroundings.

On the border of Kralingen
The master plan Brainpark I of the Municipality of Rotterdam transforms the former office park into a green multifunctional district on the border of Kralingen East, opposite the Erasmus Campus. With a characteristic ensemble of buildings, the Max Euwe Quarter forms the first link in this Rotterdam urban development. The city blocks located on the Kralingse Zoom are connected to the promenade – the Esplanade – that links the Kralingse Zoom metro station to the Erasmus University. The proximity of the A16 highway as well as the future connection to a high-quality public transport network make this area a promising location for residents, businesses and facilities.

Facts

Client

BAKKERS | HOMMEN

Assignment

New build city block

Location

Max Euwelaan, Rotterdam

Area

30,534 sqm , of which 22,674 sqm residential

Function

299 apartments, catering and mobility facilities

Start design

March 2019

In collaboration with

ZZDP en STIJNVANDENBOOGAARD ARCHITECTEN
More facts Less facts

The makers of this project

Adam Visser
Adam Visser
adam@groupa.nl

Architect | Partner

Perry Klootwijk
Perry Klootwijk
perry@groupa.nl

Architect | Projectleader

Sebastian Bok
Sebastian Bok
sebastian@groupa.nl

Architect

Hala Abi Saad
Hala Abi Saad
hala@groupa.nl

Architect | Urban designer

Mindaugas Arlauskas
Mindaugas Arlauskas
mindaugas@groupa.nl

Architect

Sven Schouten
Sven Schouten
sven@groupa.nl

Designer

Thilini Warnakulasuriya
Thilini Warnakulasuriya
thilini@groupa.nl

Junior Architect

Sophie Dogterom
Sophie Dogterom
sophie@groupa.nl

Designer

Edwin van Thuijl
Edwin van Thuijl
edwin@groupa.nl

BIM Coordinator

Greetje van den Nouweland
Greetje van den Nouweland
greetje@groupa.nl

Urban designer

Laura Onnis
Laura Onnis
laura@groupa.nl

Architect and visual artist

Gabrielius Varnelis
no-profile-image
Matteo Bettoni
no-profile-image
Ian Stadthouders
no-profile-image
Paula Ramos Martinez
no-profile-image
Selena Zhuang
no-profile-image
Birgitta Rottmann
no-profile-image
Arjan Siebelink
no-profile-image
Loading...